FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Stutter/Freeze

Moderator: MiRai

<<

pheroux

Posts: 7

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 9:36 am

Post Thu Jun 18, 2020 12:30 pm

Stutter/Freeze

I get the occassional Stutter/Freeze when 6 boxing.
I think the freeze only occus on the foreground window only but I'm not 100% sure.
I tried different CPU strategy but none seem to help.

I didn't use to get this problem on my old i7 machine.
But for some reason my newer i9 has issues with IsBoxer.

My i7 had Hyperthreading enabled, whereas my i9 doesn't.

Any thoughts?
<<

bob

User avatar

League of Extraordinary Multiboxers

Posts: 4044

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:14 am

Location: In the dining room, with the lead pipe.

Post Thu Jun 18, 2020 5:40 pm

Re: Stutter/Freeze

ISBoxer itself has very little to do with the game and the resources, other than setting limits. The easy option of course is to not set limits, e.g. use all cpus for all windows, or select no cpus, let Windows do it (the end result is the same for these options). That takes care of the CPU. FPS limiting you may still want.

If you are using an old profile that does not have a NEW window layout, not an (existing) one, then you should probably create one of those.

Other than that, it usually comes down to game settings and/or resources.
What does your monitoring show?
<<

pheroux

Posts: 7

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 9:36 am

Post Wed Jun 24, 2020 8:16 am

Re: Stutter/Freeze

I figured out the source of the stutter.
I turned off logs and the stutter stopped.
I typed this in-game
/log off

I have no idea why this would have any impact but whatever works.
<<

firescue17

User avatar

League of Extraordinary Multiboxers

Posts: 582

Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:37 am

Location: Omaha, NE

Post Wed Jun 24, 2020 12:02 pm

Re: Stutter/Freeze

Because of the read / write overhead of 6 instances attempting to write their own log file while trying to render and play the game at the same time. Especially if you've been logging for years without dumping the files and they're now multiple 10s or 100s of GBs in size.

Return to EverQuest

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest