FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

reporting bug with build 6497

Moderator: MiRai

<<

Evolve

Posts: 70

Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 8:40 pm

Post Tue Aug 13, 2019 5:43 pm

reporting bug with build 6497

I wanted to let the administration know of an issue I had trying to update to build 6497
I was seeing errors like
failed (-106): invalid build
and something about invalid token.

I would get an error and then it would come up again to install, and each time it was the same thing.
Closing and restarting innerspace didnt help.

I found that leaving the update box open for a while and doing nothing eventually allowed me to click install and update without error.
<<

Evolve

Posts: 70

Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 8:40 pm

Post Mon Sep 02, 2019 2:10 pm

Re: reporting bug with build 6497

same thing happening again with today's update to 6530.
So far cant install the update, is there another way to do this, because I cant seem to get this to work.
<<

bob

User avatar

League of Extraordinary Multiboxers

Posts: 3738

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:14 am

Location: In the dining room, with the lead pipe.

Post Mon Sep 02, 2019 3:00 pm

Re: reporting bug with build 6497

WIN+R and run the command
Code:
"%programdata%\Lavish Software\utils\lavishbuild" install innerspace live "1.16 build 6530"
(including the quotes)
<<

lax

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 7143

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 9:32 pm

Post Mon Sep 02, 2019 3:11 pm

Re: reporting bug with build 6497

It is worth noting that the issue you're describing should be resolved by the 6530 update.
<<

Evolve

Posts: 70

Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 8:40 pm

Post Mon Sep 02, 2019 11:00 pm

Re: reporting bug with build 6497

thanks was able to update
<<

Evolve

Posts: 70

Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 8:40 pm

Post Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:50 pm

Re: reporting bug with build 6497

lax wrote:It is worth noting that the issue you're describing should be resolved by the 6530 update.


just wanted to let you know that the issue wasnt resolved.
todays update to 6535 had the same problem for me. I had to update using the metod Bob posted.
<<

lax

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 7143

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 9:32 pm

Post Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:30 pm

Re: reporting bug with build 6497

Looks like this is actually going to be resolved by build 6540. That's currently a development build, but the fix will be included in a live build soon.

Thanks for keeping us informed of your results :)
<<

Evolve

Posts: 70

Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 8:40 pm

Post Mon Oct 07, 2019 4:10 pm

Re: reporting bug with build 6497

lax wrote:Looks like this is actually going to be resolved by build 6540. That's currently a development build, but the fix will be included in a live build soon.

Thanks for keeping us informed of your results :)


Today's version update to 6586 had the same issue again. I had to use the same method to update again.
Just want to let you know.
<<

lax

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 7143

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 9:32 pm

Post Mon Oct 07, 2019 4:30 pm

Re: reporting bug with build 6497

Yes but if you were not already on the build with the fix, then updating to ANY build would still give you this error. If you updated from the previous live build (6535) -- which did not have the fix -- you would definitely still get this error when updating to the current live build, which does have the fix.
<<

Evolve

Posts: 70

Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 8:40 pm

Post Mon Oct 07, 2019 8:19 pm

Re: reporting bug with build 6497

lax wrote:Yes but if you were not already on the build with the fix, then updating to ANY build would still give you this error. If you updated from the previous live build (6535) -- which did not have the fix -- you would definitely still get this error when updating to the current live build, which does have the fix.


So the fix was in today's build and going forward I shouldn't have the problem anymore?

EDIT: just fyi no issuse with the second update today 6587 installed

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest