FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Can you help me understand the benefint of ATG?

Moderator: MiRai

<<

August78

Post Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:33 am

Can you help me understand the benefint of ATG?

Hi. Noob here :) I am spending a lot of time wrapping my head around Isboxer and the logic behind it. One of the things I don't really understand is action target groups. One would think it is self-explanatory, but here is my issue:

Let's say I have a mixed team; 3 mages, 1 warrior and 1 priest. In theory, I understand the benefit if not sending the same action to all 5 since I want mages to do mage spells, warrior to do his thing etc, and not have everything into one giant soup. However, I only have 1 keyboard. When I play a single character I tend to use a lot of the keys on my keyboard to trigger spells and abilities. So what if I say that when I press the 3 key I only want to send that to the mages group. That only means that I cant bind anything to the 3 key on my warrior or priest since Isboxer wont send the 3 key to those windows. If I have anything on the 3-key on priest or warrior it will never recieve any input to trigger it (if I understand correctly).

The other way, which I think Mirai spoke about in one of his videos, is to leave gaps on the hotbar so that if I want the 3 key to only send out a mage spell, I wouldn't bind anything on the 3 key on the priest or warrior. That would leave gaps on their respective hotbars. Other than looking utidy and of course being unpractical if I decide to main that character, I cant really see the benefit of ATG.

I could just leave it at that, but something tells me I'm missing a broader picture, or maybe some practical tips on how to use ATG and keybindings effectively. Ie, do you guys tend to use modifiers like shift+numerical keys 1-9 that you dedicate to ATG that are not your main character?
<<

Wizeowel

Post Mon Sep 23, 2019 5:27 am

Re: Can you help me understand the benefint of ATG?