FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Frustrated newbie

Moderator: MiRai

<<

jskillz

Post Mon Nov 07, 2011 6:00 pm

Frustrated newbie

So... where exactly is the useful information for complete newbies to get started with. I keep looking through the forums and the wiki and I'm getting really frustrated. Seems to be a lot of description of how to set parameters and not much useful information about what those parameters might be/mean or anything resembling an actual example. For example, I read that the process to get toons to follow is set up in game macros, then map keys and then put them on a click bar. Then I can't find any information about how to actually do those steps. Like how exactly do I set up clickbar button that will actually click the macro I have setup in game? Haven't found anything about that. In EQ2 I have 6 or 7 hotbars depending on the character and you can't hotkey all of those in game. Is there a way to tell ISBoxer to actually do something on your in game hotbars that doesn't have a hotkey assigned in game?

There seems to be a lot of gaps in information in the wiki and in the forums because I always get stuck not understanding how to get from one step to the next. I get the setting up in game macros, then setting up keymaps, then setting up clickbar buttons. But there seem to be disconnects between doing these things. And what exactly does the many new map keys bit do? Is that just so you can set up a combination of hotkeys? I mean, I can't use it to send "/follow Soandso" to that window, right?

Getting really frustrated trying to figure this thing out. I just want some kind of example for how to set up a clickbar button to make all my toons follow the leader or attack the tank's target in EQ2. There's something I'm missing here, and when I get that, I think I can tie it all together.