FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Looking for suggestions w/ key combinations

Moderator: MiRai

<<

Athion

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:28 am

Looking for suggestions w/ key combinations

How do folks pick keys to assign when setting up your key maps and macro libraries?

I am trying to use a logical approach that will minimize conflicts between my ISBoxer setup and the in-game default keybinds. Hopefully, using a logical approach will also make it easier to troubleshoot conflicts. For instance, I have a Combat Hotkey triggered by G14 on my Logitech G600 mouse calling Ctrl + Alt + Shift + V in my WoW macro library as part of the paladin's step/priority dps rotation. The setup exports to Inner Space without error.

In the example I gave, using the macro was opening the specialization window in WoW. So I am having to go into the game and remove most of the key bindings. Generally, this suits my playstyle. I don't mind clicking UI buttons to get to the spellbook or professions windows. But I do like having key binds for some of the more common windows such as character screen, inventory and map. So I would like to try and strike a balance between having enough keys available for key maps and having some keys available for UI key binds.

Some of the things I try to do to keep conflicts to a minimum are:
    - Removing most of the in-game key bindings I don't use. I am happy clicking on a button for things like opening the specialization or profession windows, but not common features like opeing inventory, character sheet or map.
    - Reuse key combinations for similar activities across classes (i.e. right Ctrl + right Alt + right Shift + Q for the first step in all dps rotations in the game helper library)
    - Use the logitech special keys as mapped keys within the Combat Hotkeys key maps
<<

lax

Site Admin

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:38 am

Re: Looking for suggestions w/ key combinations