FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

need set up for 10 wow accounts

Moderator: MiRai

<<

magickmann

Posts: 4

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 4:18 pm

Post Wed Jan 09, 2019 3:34 pm

need set up for 10 wow accounts

Hello, been boxing 10 accounts since MOP on one computer with no problems as long as my lead toons setting was 3 or less and the other 9 were on 1. Well ever since the patch with the second warfront came out I get really bad lag and lockups and disconnects and cant do warfronts or even quest in most areas unless I do them in groups of 5 separately.

The computer Im using is like 5 years old its a Dell desktop i7-4790 3.60GHz, 16 GB ram, with a EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB SSC Gaming ACX 2.0+ Cooling Graphics Card.


I want to get a new set up that can run all 10 WOW accounts with lead toon settings from 3 to 5 and other 9 accounts on 1 and not get the lag and lockups and disconnects.

Anyone else boxing 10 or more accounts on 1 computer that can recommend possible set ups?


Thanks!
<<

Wizeowel

Posts: 8

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 11:13 am

Post Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:56 am

Re: need set up for 10 wow accounts

The CPU is fine. Think you could benefit from a better GPU. I can do 10 accounts with my GTX 1080 - 8GB, but like you get lock ups with my daughter's 1060-3GB. If I were you I'd look at the 2070 or 2080, they both have 8GB DDR6. Or, depending on budget, maybe you can get a second hand 1080 (Ti)?
<<

magickmann

Posts: 4

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 4:18 pm

Post Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:03 pm

Re: need set up for 10 wow accounts

Wizeowel wrote:The CPU is fine. Think you could benefit from a better GPU. I can do 10 accounts with my GTX 1080 - 8GB, but like you get lock ups with my daughter's 1060-3GB. If I were you I'd look at the 2070 or 2080, they both have 8GB DDR6. Or, depending on budget, maybe you can get a second hand 1080 (Ti)?




well I pulled the trigger and ordered a GIGABYTE GeForce RTX 2070 Gaming OC 8G GGDR6 DisplayPort 1.4 HDMI 2.0b USB Type-C with Triple Fan Design

Hope this is all I need to get, for now at least!
<<

serpent01

Posts: 1

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:06 pm

Post Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:15 pm

Re: need set up for 10 wow accounts

I think getting new RTX 2070 was bad idea if you wanted to run more accounts. I just upgraded from GTX 770 to a RTX 2070 and it is not noticeable difference.

My PC:
AMD 8350FX
RTX 2070
DDR3 16GB
Win 7

For me, my old GTX 770 never got above 60-70% usage. While my RAM and CPU all were at 100% when running 7-8 accounts.

I think for 10 accounts you need more than 16 GB ram and a decent CPU.
<<

bob

User avatar

League of Extraordinary Multiboxers

Posts: 3337

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:14 am

Location: In the dining room, with the lead pipe.

Post Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:25 pm

Re: need set up for 10 wow accounts

serpent01 wrote:I think getting new RTX 2070 was bad idea if you wanted to run more accounts. I just upgraded from GTX 770 to a RTX 2070 and it is not noticeable difference.

My PC:
AMD 8350FX
RTX 2070
DDR3 16GB
Win 7

For me, my old GTX 770 never got above 60-70% usage. While my RAM and CPU all were at 100% when running 7-8 accounts.

I think for 10 accounts you need more than 16 GB ram and a decent CPU.


If your CPU and RAM are at 100%, and the GPU is at 70%, then the obvious bottleneck is not the GPU, so upgrading that would be pointless (to begin with anyway). However, once you update the CPU and RAM, you then might find that they can now supply data to the GPU in a timely fashion, at which point the GPU shows itself as a bottleneck. In the world of computers, it is one of those problems where once you managed to fatten the capacity of one pipe, you may find another pipe which also needs fattening.

Return to World of Warcraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest