FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

WoW Error #132

Moderator: MiRai

<<

reprusu

Posts: 3

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:15 pm

Post Sun Mar 06, 2016 11:49 pm

WoW Error #132

Hey, I got the 7 day trial to test out isboxer, and I set it up to run on Windows 10. Whenver I try to launch a character set my WoW crashes with this error. Below are an image of the error window and a paste to my WoW crash log. Anything else I should include?
Image

http://pastebin.com/raw/7ZfFs9JU
<<

bob

User avatar

League of Extraordinary Multiboxers

Posts: 3308

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:14 am

Location: In the dining room, with the lead pipe.

Post Mon Mar 07, 2016 2:43 am

Re: WoW Error #132

From a quick look, I would try the second half of this post, from Playing World of Warcraft.
<<

reprusu

Posts: 3

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:15 pm

Post Mon Mar 07, 2016 3:10 am

Re: WoW Error #132

bob wrote:From a quick look, I would try the second half of this post, from Playing World of Warcraft.


I did that. My game wouldn't even try to launch before, but after that changing it to the 64bit executable, it at least launches it, but WoW just crashes with the #132 error when launched with ISBoxer.
<<

bob

User avatar

League of Extraordinary Multiboxers

Posts: 3308

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:14 am

Location: In the dining room, with the lead pipe.

Post Mon Mar 07, 2016 3:22 am

Re: WoW Error #132

I was suggesting that post because the InnerSpace DLL's that were referenced in your crash report were the 32bit InnerSpace DLL's, which indicated to me that you weren't running 64bit InnerSpace with 64 bit WoW. You can of course force 32bit WoW with 32bit InnerSpace too.

However, you could get a diagnostic for crashes if you like, but I suspect you will need to correct the aforementioned item first before anything else, because if that launch issue is not eliminated, then everything else we try will probably still include that as a possible solution.
<<

lax

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 6934

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 9:32 pm

Post Mon Mar 07, 2016 7:02 am

Re: WoW Error #132

According to the crash log if you disable D3DGear64 you should be good to go.
<<

reprusu

Posts: 3

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:15 pm

Post Tue Mar 08, 2016 3:15 am

Re: WoW Error #132

lax wrote:According to the crash log if you disable D3DGear64 you should be good to go.

Thanks! That fixed it. Looking forward to trying multi-boxing :D
<<

ronkman13

Posts: 2

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:33 am

Post Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:38 am

Re: WoW Error #132

hey mate hows it goin? i am having the same problem. what is D3DGear64 and how do i disable it?
<<

lax

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 6934

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 9:32 pm

Post Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:03 am

Re: WoW Error #132

ronkman13 wrote:hey mate hows it goin? i am having the same problem. what is D3DGear64 and how do i disable it?

Hey mate, if you don't know what D3DGear64 is, you probably have not installed it, and therefore your problem is very much NOT the same.

Error #132 is a generic error code that means "WoW crashed", which you're right, the OP's wow did also crash. Anyway, the process to get your problem solved is the same process the OP followed, which was to provide us details on his crash. From his details I was able to provide specific instructions. Should you do the same, I may also be able to provide you specific instructions.

WoW keeps the crash logs in the WoW folder in a sub-folder called Errors. There will be a text file matching the time/date of your fresh crash. If you paste us the text file, we can go from there. OP pasted his on the site pastebin.com and then provided us with the link -- you should do the same.

I am locking this thread, please begin a new thread for your issue and any other new issues. Thanks!

Return to World of Warcraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 4 guests

cron