Guide to multi-fishing for fun and profit

Moderator: MiRai

<<

mrmagoo

Post Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:52 pm

Guide to multi-fishing for fun and profit

:idea: Guide to multi-fishing for fun and profit :idea:

Fishing. meh. :roll:
I remember the old fishing days back when EQ was shiny and new and thus before all MMOs went easy-mode. In a game full of horrific grinding fishing was the grind of all grinds. I have been an avid real-life fisherman (even some commercial) since I was a kid and this only made the pain worse.
I was horrified at how terrifyingly boring it was. Yes that's right, horror :shock: at the amount of terror :o . :evil: :twisted: :twisted: :evil:

WHY??!!
This is a guide in remembrance of those days to try and take as much of the pain out of fishing as possible. The rest of the pain can be removed by only fishing in warm weather, while listening to your favourite music/podcast and consuming a 6 pack.
I am a rift newbie but have played a stupid number of MMOs in the past. I will evolve this guide as I learn more but wanted to begin it while the information was fresh in my mind. I apologise if any information is incorrect and suggestions are welcome.

Setting up your tackle:
  1. Drag your fishing icon to an unused action bar slot and bind it to an easy to hit key. (I use HOME)
  2. Make sure you are configured to be able to global broadcast your fishing key to all clients. (Either using the global repeater or by adding a hotkey in Isboxer)
  3. *optional* In Isboxer create a mapped key that has a single action that clicks the first mouse button in all clients. Bind it to something easy to press and near the fishing key. (I use INSERT) You don't need this but it is much easier and means you never use the mouse after initial setup.