FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

10 Man Team

Moderator: MiRai

<<

PlayerOne

Posts: 3

Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 1:56 pm

Post Sat Jul 13, 2013 10:37 pm

10 Man Team

I plan on attempting a 10 man team in Rift. Very basic all cleric team so I am not looking to do any crazy multi class bindings. However, while setting up I am running into a couple issues. One is the Window Layout. I would like to be able to have my primary window on DISPLAY 2 and the other 9 on DISPLAY 1 and I cannot figure out how to set this up.

After that, I am looking for advice on how the setup in ISBoxer varies between 5 man and 10 man for those that have done it. I will be putting together the team later tonight and experimenting with setups in ISBoxer, but hoping for any advice before I start pulling some hair out.
<<

Alge

User avatar

League of Extraordinary Multiboxers

Posts: 1223

Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:17 am

Location: Under the milky way tonight

Post Sun Jul 14, 2013 8:11 am

Re: 10 Man Team

PlayerOne wrote:I would like to be able to have my primary window on DISPLAY 2 and the other 9 on DISPLAY 1 and I cannot figure out how to set this up.

In the Window Layout Wizard, look for where is says "Use Monitors (Collection)". You can click "(Collection)" and then the "..." button next to it. In that screen you can change the order of your displays.

After that, I am looking for advice on how the setup in ISBoxer varies between 5 man and 10 man for those that have done it.

On the final page of the Quick Setup Wizard ("How would you like to control the game?"), on the Game Key Bindings tab, select "Use per-Character Targeting macros". Uncheck "Simplified". This will set up ISBoxer to use assist macros on Ctrl+Num1 through Ctrl+Num0 and follow macros on Alt+Num1 through Alt+Num0. Those keybindings can be changed on that screen using the "<" buttons. Then in RIFT you will need to make twenty macros on each character (use mouse broadcasting!) and assign them to 20 action bar slots with the keybinds mentioned above.

Each follow macro should be:

Code:
targetexact character_name
follow
targetlasttarget


Each assist macro should be:

Code:
assist character_name


The character_name must match the appropriate Character Set Slot. So, for example, the macros bound to Ctrl+Num1 and Alt+Num1 would use Slot1's name, Ctrl+Num2 and Alt+Num2 would use Slot2's name, etc. It is a bit of work to set up but once set up will allow you to drive from any slot.
<<

PlayerOne

Posts: 3

Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 1:56 pm

Post Sun Jul 14, 2013 9:55 pm

Re: 10 Man Team

This was a lot of work, but helped a lot. Thanks Alge.

It is working great. =]
<<

Alge

User avatar

League of Extraordinary Multiboxers

Posts: 1223

Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:17 am

Location: Under the milky way tonight

Post Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:33 am

Re: 10 Man Team

I worked out it is possible to use only 10 macros and 10 action bars slots, basically by putting the assist and follow parts in the same macro.

The macro now looks like:

Code:
targetexact [alt] character_name
follow [alt]
targetlasttarget [alt]
assist [ctrl] character_name


You would put these macros (one per character_name) in action bar slots bound to Num0 through Num9. Then when ISBoxer sends Ctrl+Num0 it will do the assist part and when ISBoxer sends Alt+Num0 it will do the follow part. The set up in ISBoxer is exactly as done above.

I'm sure this could be reduced to a smaller number of macros and action bar slots with some more thought.
<<

Smedbox

Posts: 86

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 12:41 am

Post Tue Jul 16, 2013 4:13 pm

Re: 10 Man Team

I sometimes play 5-man and sometimes 10-man. You only need 2 Follow macros and 2 Assist macros, no more. Each macro can technically handle up to 7 characters, using combinations of ctrl/shift/alt.

In the first Follow macro, you list your first five characters, e.g:

focus
targetexact [ctrl] char1
targetexact [shift] char2
targetexact [alt] char3
targetexact [ctrl] [shift] char4
targetexact [ctrl] [alt] char5
follow
target @focus
clearfocus

This is better than using "targetlasttarget", but it prevents you from using the Focus frame for anything else (which is ok with me).

The second Follow macro is identical, except using the names for your other 5-man team. Let's say the in-game keybind is F11 for the first macro and F12 for the second macro. IsBoxer should be set up to produce Ctrl-F11 to follow char1, Ctrl+Shift+F11 to follow char4, Ctrl+Alt+F12 to follow char10, etc. Same for assists.
<<

Mojoguy01

Posts: 146

Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:53 am

Post Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:19 am

Re: 10 Man Team

Why would you 10box?

Isn't the team-max 5 total?

So you're walking around with 2 teams? How does this work exactly xD? Are you cycling through 10 characters for quests, or how are you leveling?

One of my greatest gripes when I tried RIFT a year ago was that it was a WoW-clone quest-grinder. Has this changed?? :|
<<

Bishopwrath

Posts: 57

Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 10:50 am

Post Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:26 am

Re: 10 Man Team

Actually you can do quite well with 10 in theory. There are macros commands to select player by raid slot. That can be really useful.

The problem I am having is really resources. I have 10 accounts, but can't really play them all at once. I have only been able to get 1.5 fps on my main screen. I set the others to low rendering and dropped all of the individual setting sliders as low as I can. I also put my main screen on low normal. The only addon I have running is Imhothar's Bags so I can see where my items are on all accounts. I set the windows layout to round robin for processor usage.

Computer
Model : GigaByte Z68A-D3H-B3
Chassis : GigaByte Desktop
Mainboard : GigaByte Z68A-D3H-B3
BIOS : Award (OEM) F11 10/12/2011
Total Memory : 15.92GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz (4C 3.51GHz/3.7GHz, 3.5GHz IMC, 2x 256kB L2, 6MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1155

Chipset
Memory Controller : Intel Core (Sandy Bridge) DRAM Controller 100MHz, 2x 8GB DIMM DDR3 1.6GHz/1.33GHz 128-bit

Video System
Monitor/Panel : ACI VE247
(1920x1080, 24.0")
Monitor/Panel : ACR Acer S232HL
(1920x1080, 23.1")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti (8CU 384SP SM5.0 1.8GHz, 512kB L2, 1GB 4GHz 256-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti (8CU 384SP SM5.0 1.8GHz, 512kB L2, 1GB 4GHz 256-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti (384SP 8C 1.8GHz, 512kB L2, 1GB 4GHz 256-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti (384SP 8C 1.8GHz, 512kB L2, 1GB 4GHz 256-bit)
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti (384SP 8C 1.8GHz, 512kB L2, 1GB 4GHz 256-bit)

Storage Devices
Seagate ST31000524AS (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (C:)
ATAPI iHAS124 B (8GB, SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 7GB (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
Hard Disk (C:) : 931GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST31000524AS (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Gigabyte Cougar Point LPC Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : T2 87-28
Audio Device : Gigabyte Cougar Point High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Device : Gigabyte GF110 High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia 0016
Audio Codec : nVidia 0016
Audio Codec : nVidia 0016
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : Gigabyte Cougar Point 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Gigabyte Cougar Point 2 port SATA IDE Controller
USB Controller 1 : Gigabyte Cougar Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 2 : Gigabyte Cougar Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
USB Controller 3 : Gigabyte Etron USB 3.0 Extensible Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64
<<

MiRai

User avatar

Vibrant Videographer

Posts: 2901

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 3:30 pm

Post Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:53 am

Re: 10 Man Team

Bishopwrath wrote:The problem I am having is really resources. I have 10 accounts, but can't really play them all at once. I have only been able to get 1.5 fps on my main screen. I set the others to low rendering and dropped all of the individual setting sliders as low as I can. I also put my main screen on low normal. The only addon I have running is Imhothar's Bags so I can see where my items are on all accounts. I set the windows layout to round robin for processor usage.

Are you making a statement or asking for assistance? The OP's question was answered a few weeks ago, but if you're having a completely separate issue (performance issues vs 10-man macro setup) then you should probably start a new thread with a new question.

Return to RIFT

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest