FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

i7 CPU: Assigning Separate Cores to Different Clients

Moderator: MiRai

<<

ronis

Posts: 24

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:04 pm

Post Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:59 pm

Re: i7 CPU: Assigning Separate Cores to Different Clients

Lax, thank you for your patience in explaining this to me.
<<

losschris

Posts: 30

Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:59 pm

Location: Wyomingq

Post Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:07 pm

Re: i7 CPU: Assigning Separate Cores to Different Clients

so If i have the i7-3960 6 cores 12 threads I would have for my cpu?

1 - 2
3 - 4
5 - 6
7 - 8
9 - 10
11 - 12

I have let round robin rule the cpu, and I have just one 4gb gtx 680, and I want to be running a full 4 man group in swtor would I need to get another video card?
<<

Prepared

Posts: 129

Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:34 pm

Post Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:06 am

Re: Assigning Seperate Cores to Different Clients

lax wrote:The way i7 cores work is 1,3,5,7 are physical (real) cores and 2,4,6,8 are logical (fake) cores. My understanding is that for optimal performance, each fake core should be paired up with its corresponding physical core. And you should never assign only a fake core.

With 5 WoW instances on my i7, here is what I set mine to:
Slot 1: 1,2
Slot 2: 3,4
Slot 3: 5,6
Slot 4: 7,8
Slot 5: 5,7 (this one is assigned 2 physical cores)

This has served me well and is what I recommend to other i7 users. Enjoy :)



Following the same pattern for a 6 core system and 9 clients, here's what I use:

Slot 1: 1,2
Slot 2: 3,4
Slot 3: 5,6
Slot 4: 7,8
Slot 5: 9,10
Slot 6: 11,12
Slot 7: 1,3 (this one is assigned 2 physical cores)
Slot 8: 5,7 (this one is assigned 2 physical cores)
Slot 9: 9,11(this one is assigned 2 physical cores)

This seems to balance everything out across all of the CPUs and has worked well for me with 9 WoW clients on an I7 with 6 cores (990x)

How would one configure the cores for running 16 clients on a 6 core system? I'm thinking about trying this:
Slot 1: 1,2
Slot 2: 3,4
Slot 3: 5,6
Slot 4: 7,8
Slot 5: 9,10
Slot 6: 11,12
Slot 7: 1,3 (this one is assigned 2 physical cores)
Slot 8: 5,7 (this one is assigned 2 physical cores)
Slot 9: 9,11(this one is assigned 2 physical cores)
Slot 10: 1,2
Slot 11: 3,4
Slot 12: 5,6
Slot 13: 7,8
Slot 14: 9,10
Slot 15: 11,12
Slot 16: 1,2

Couldn't find a way to balance the last slot. any ideas?
<<

lax

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 6930

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 9:32 pm

Post Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:41 am

Re: i7 CPU: Assigning Separate Cores to Different Clients

Hmmm, well.. 2 rounds of straight Round-Robin with 16/6 will leave 4 instances. You've got 3 of those 4 assigned to 2 physical but that doesn't extend nicely to 4.

What I would suggest is to keep the 2 rounds of Round-Robin, but then do something like have 2 of the remaining double up on 3 physical cores, and the other 2 double up on the other 3 physical cores.

Example:
Slot 1: 1,2 (1 physical, 1 logical)
Slot 2: 3,4
Slot 3: 5,6
Slot 4: 7,8
Slot 5: 9,10
Slot 6: 11,12
Slot 7: 1,2
Slot 8: 3,4
Slot 9: 5,6
Slot 10: 7,8
Slot 11: 9,10
Slot 12: 11,12
Slot 13: 1,3,5 (3 physical)
Slot 14: 7,9,11 (3 physical)
Slot 15: 1,3,5 (3 physical)
Slot 16: 7,9,11 (3 physical)

This way you're not expecting to break everything with one remaining instance :)
<<

MiRai

User avatar

Vibrant Videographer

Posts: 2708

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 3:30 pm

Post Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:22 am

Re: i7 CPU: Assigning Separate Cores to Different Clients

losschris wrote:so If i have the i7-3960 6 cores 12 threads I would have for my cpu?

1 - 2
3 - 4
5 - 6
7 - 8
9 - 10
11 - 12

I have let round robin rule the cpu, and I have just one 4gb gtx 680, and I want to be running a full 4 man group in swtor would I need to get another video card?

Probably not...
<<

losschris

Posts: 30

Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:59 pm

Location: Wyomingq

Post Sun Aug 12, 2012 9:29 am

Re: i7 CPU: Assigning Separate Cores to Different Clients

Thanks for the information, everything is actually working well. I have updated more system ram up to 32gb which I noticed helped take alot of stress of the vram. Currently using 3.4gb vram and 26gb Ram with Full Graphics, while letting the cpu round robin and handle some of the phy x. Not sure if it is the game or whatnot, but I do notice that swtor has maxed out my ram after hours (8+) playing along with vram, not sure if it just keeps adding or not or if this is a ISBOXER thing?
<<

Prepared

Posts: 129

Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:34 pm

Post Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:48 pm

Re: i7 CPU: Assigning Separate Cores to Different Clients

lax wrote:Hmmm, well.. 2 rounds of straight Round-Robin with 16/6 will leave 4 instances. You've got 3 of those 4 assigned to 2 physical but that doesn't extend nicely to 4.

What I would suggest is to keep the 2 rounds of Round-Robin, but then do something like have 2 of the remaining double up on 3 physical cores, and the other 2 double up on the other 3 physical cores.

Example:
Slot 1: 1,2 (1 physical, 1 logical)
Slot 2: 3,4
Slot 3: 5,6
Slot 4: 7,8
Slot 5: 9,10
Slot 6: 11,12
Slot 7: 1,2
Slot 8: 3,4
Slot 9: 5,6
Slot 10: 7,8
Slot 11: 9,10
Slot 12: 11,12
Slot 13: 1,3,5 (3 physical)
Slot 14: 7,9,11 (3 physical)
Slot 15: 1,3,5 (3 physical)
Slot 16: 7,9,11 (3 physical)

This way you're not expecting to break everything with one remaining instance :)


I finally got around to trying this configuration and it works the best out of some other options I tried. Thanks Lax! With this information, I'm planning to log in all of my accounts in about a week from now. 100 accounts will be logged into the front of Orgrimmar with a level 80 or higher using 10 computers. I'll be streaming the event at twitch.tv/preparedwow and will also post a youtube video of it. Will ISBoxer handle 100 accounts logged in at the same time? We'll see. :) I'll let you know how it goes.
<<

tanker

Posts: 222

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:27 am

Post Mon Nov 26, 2012 7:53 pm

Re: i7 CPU: Assigning Separate Cores to Different Clients

Prepared wrote:I finally got around to trying this configuration and it works the best out of some other options I tried. Thanks Lax! With this information, I'm planning to log in all of my accounts in about a week from now. 100 accounts will be logged into the front of Orgrimmar with a level 80 or higher using 10 computers. I'll be streaming the event at twitch.tv/preparedwow and will also post a youtube video of it. Will ISBoxer handle 100 accounts logged in at the same time? We'll see. :) I'll let you know how it goes.


Be aware that people have been banned for crashing a server by getting too many people in one place at a time.

http://wow.joystiq.com/2011/07/19/blizzard-responds-to-swifty-ban-incident
<<

Prepared

Posts: 129

Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:34 pm

Post Mon Nov 26, 2012 8:08 pm

Re: i7 CPU: Assigning Separate Cores to Different Clients

tanker wrote:
Prepared wrote:I finally got around to trying this configuration and it works the best out of some other options I tried. Thanks Lax! With this information, I'm planning to log in all of my accounts in about a week from now. 100 accounts will be logged into the front of Orgrimmar with a level 80 or higher using 10 computers. I'll be streaming the event at twitch.tv/preparedwow and will also post a youtube video of it. Will ISBoxer handle 100 accounts logged in at the same time? We'll see. :) I'll let you know how it goes.


Be aware that people have been banned for crashing a server by getting too many people in one place at a time.

http://wow.joystiq.com/2011/07/19/blizzard-responds-to-swifty-ban-incident


That's why it won't be inside Orgrimmar. It will be outside and at a time when no events are taking place there.
<<

Prepared

Posts: 129

Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:34 pm

Post Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:14 am

Re: i7 CPU: Assigning Separate Cores to Different Clients

Prepared wrote:
tanker wrote:
Prepared wrote:I finally got around to trying this configuration and it works the best out of some other options I tried. Thanks Lax! With this information, I'm planning to log in all of my accounts in about a week from now. 100 accounts will be logged into the front of Orgrimmar with a level 80 or higher using 10 computers. I'll be streaming the event at twitch.tv/preparedwow and will also post a youtube video of it. Will ISBoxer handle 100 accounts logged in at the same time? We'll see. :) I'll let you know how it goes.


Be aware that people have been banned for crashing a server by getting too many people in one place at a time.

http://wow.joystiq.com/2011/07/19/blizzard-responds-to-swifty-ban-incident


That's why it won't be inside Orgrimmar. It will be outside and at a time when no events are taking place there.



Here it is! 100 accounts multiboxed on live realm US-Kil'Jaeden! All of the characters are level 80 or higher except 5 are level 56. This was done by using 10 computers and it's also recorded at my stream twitch.tv/preparedwow

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rfA8b5AIpBE&

ISBoxer handled it fine but Input Director wasn't doing too well across machines so I had to use the mouse attached to most of the computers for the best performance if I needed to do something on a different computer from the main. Surprisingly my Internet connection was fine at about 45ms throughout the hour I was online.
Previous

Return to Multiboxing Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest