FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

[STO] Steam or no Steam?

Moderator: MiRai

<<

breezett93

Posts: 5

Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:17 pm

Post Sat Jun 13, 2015 10:29 pm

Steam or no Steam?

Previous experiences with Steam or no Steam?

Any noticeable performance issues (interference, # of instances etc)?
<<

bob

User avatar

League of Extraordinary Multiboxers

Posts: 3304

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:14 am

Location: In the dining room, with the lead pipe.

Post Sat Jun 13, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: Steam or no Steam?

you can usually only have one instance of a steam game running at a time, so for multiboxing, non steam.
<<

breezett93

Posts: 5

Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:17 pm

Post Sun Jun 14, 2015 12:03 am

Re: Steam or no Steam?

bob wrote:you can usually only have one instance of a steam game running at a time, so for multiboxing, non steam.


I just thought of ARC. Does that apply the same way as Steam?
<<

bob

User avatar

League of Extraordinary Multiboxers

Posts: 3304

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:14 am

Location: In the dining room, with the lead pipe.

Post Sun Jun 14, 2015 6:48 am

Re: Steam or no Steam?

breezett93 wrote:I just thought of ARC. Does that apply the same way as Steam?

No. ARC will let you start it up again without it complaining about an existing running game, and let you launch a second copy.

Steam is more annoying in that if you are running a Steam game (one that you cannot run without using Steam to launch it) then when you start up steam the second time to launch a second game instance, it either 1) sees the existing game, and wont let you launch another copy or 2) sees the existing game and shuts it down. Steam is (currently) the only launcher process that is like this. The others, once you shut them down between game launches, will allow a second game instance to launch.
<<

Stormcalm

Posts: 5

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:31 pm

Post Sun Jun 14, 2015 4:59 pm

Re: Steam or no Steam?

I'm not sure if you WANT or do NOT want to have an additional overlay running.

If you do NOT and already have a steam installation, just copy the game files to another location
(or shut down steam and use the launcher from installation folder, directly), and start as many clients bloatware free as you want.

If you want to have a steam overlay running on one instance...
...I guess, you can just launch that instance through steam and others through launcher directly.

I really don't know how it functions with ARC, since I never had it.
Hope it helps.

Return to Star Trek Online

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests