FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

[WoW] 1080 ti and 1080 two monitors 1 PC.

Moderator: MiRai

<<

MadMilitia

Posts: 47

Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 2:07 pm

Post Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:24 am

1080 ti and 1080 two monitors 1 PC.

Asking how many problems I should have with this setup running WoW and IsBoxer. Is it a bad idea?
<<

bob

User avatar

League of Extraordinary Multiboxers

Posts: 3521

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:14 am

Location: In the dining room, with the lead pipe.

Post Mon Jul 16, 2018 4:41 am

Re: 1080 ti and 1080 two monitors 1 PC.

The answers are pretty much covered here: http://isboxer.com/wiki/GPU_Management. Or at least the tradeoffs and configuration pieces are. Is it a bad idea? Not really. Especially not really if you need the GPU power/VRAM. It just takes a different configuration to work effectively and not waste all the extra grunt.

Multiple GPUs: With any version of Windows, allowing a game window to move from one monitor to another that is powered by a different GPU will cause a significant performance hit.

These are not Inner Space or ISBoxer limitations; This is documented by Microsoft here under Best Practices for Multi-Monitor Displays

About the game launching process on multiple monitors

When your game first launches, regardless of what GPU ISBoxer has selected for the game, the game window is still most likely to appear on the primary display (by design of the game you are playing; this is just where the game puts the window initially and is unrelated to your Window Layout!) before ISBoxer moves it into your Window Layout. During this time, a performance hit described in the "Powering multiple monitors" section may apply, and then subside when the window is moved to the proper monitor.

Some (few) games have a setting that affects where the window is initially placed -- although ISBoxer will still enforce the correct GPU regardless of this setting. For example, World of Warcraft has a monitor selection setting in its video options that will cause it to initially appear on a different monitor than the primary.

How to get high performance cross-monitor Swapping

There are exactly two ways that allow you to move a window from one monitor to another without losing performance:
1. Use ONE video card instead of two (Windows Vista or later only!)

How to split the load between multiple GPUs

In order to split the load between multiple GPUs yourself (as opposed to using SLI or Crossfire):
1. Avoid using Cross-monitor Swapping (note that when swapping occurs, the same GPU handles the rendering as before, but incurs a performance hit to render on the other screen)
2. Pick a Window Layout where the Home Region for each Window is on the GPU you would like to power it. That GPU will power the window for its lifetime, regardless of whether the window moves to the other screen via Cross-monitor Swapping.
<<

MadMilitia

Posts: 47

Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 2:07 pm

Post Mon Jul 16, 2018 5:21 am

Re: 1080 ti and 1080 two monitors 1 PC.

Thanks for the input Bob.

Next question: I've made a 10 man layout with 10 all using DX11 64bit. When the first set spins up on monitor 1 (1080TI) everything loads fine. When the second set then spins up on monitor 2 (1080) WoW throws an exception unable to load 3d application.

Is this DX-related? Or do I just need to reinstall the driver running both cards?

Thanks again!
<<

MadMilitia

Posts: 47

Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 2:07 pm

Post Mon Jul 16, 2018 5:47 am

Re: 1080 ti and 1080 two monitors 1 PC.

Found this in DxDiag:

+++ WER4 +++:
Fault bucket 1228003495291241838, type 4
Event Name: APPCRASH
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: wow-64.exe
P2: 7.3.5.26972
P3: 5b358da7
P4: wow-64.exe
P5: 7.3.5.26972
P6: 5b358da7
P7: c0000005
P8: 0000000000b734c0
P9:
P10:

Not sure if that's helpful. DxDiag is reporting everything running fine at the moment on both cards.
<<

bob

User avatar

League of Extraordinary Multiboxers

Posts: 3521

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:14 am

Location: In the dining room, with the lead pipe.

Post Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:14 am

Re: 1080 ti and 1080 two monitors 1 PC.

See http://isboxer.com/wiki/FAQ#WoW_was_una ... celeration

It is usually because you are playing WoW, have multiple graphics cards, are using DX11, and are trying to start games on a monitor which is not defined as the primary monitor in Windows. Rectifying these things entails one of the following.

1. Use DX9
2. Let all your games start on the primary monitor and take the performance hit.
3. Don't setup ISBoxer so the games will start (i.e. have a reset region) on a monitor connected to a graphics card which is not also connected to the primary monitor.
4. Use a single graphics card.


p.s. With the impending BFA release, which may or may not remove DX9 support, this will probably be getting some attention
<<

MadMilitia

Posts: 47

Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 2:07 pm

Post Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:24 am

Re: 1080 ti and 1080 two monitors 1 PC.

So the short answer here is BFA won't allow us to use a dual monitor and dual GPU setup?
<<

bob

User avatar

League of Extraordinary Multiboxers

Posts: 3521

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:14 am

Location: In the dining room, with the lead pipe.

Post Mon Jul 16, 2018 9:27 am

Re: 1080 ti and 1080 two monitors 1 PC.

No, it does work, there may just be some impact to doing so, until such as time as the DX12 renderers for Inner Space are complete, and/or the 3d acceleration issue is knutted out.

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sterger7 and 4 guests