FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Windows Layout Game Swap Flicker

Moderator: MiRai

<<

jabberie

Posts: 50

Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:56 am

Post Wed Feb 15, 2017 6:36 pm

Windows Layout Game Swap Flicker

Windows layout issue with the flickering in the upper left quadrant.

Montior 1 has a single 1080 game running.
Monitor 2 has 4 960*540 games with 1080 render setting.
All monitors are on the same video card.

Talked in IRC before about it and we didn't come to any great conclusion.
I recreated the windows layout and it reduced it to what you see in the video.
Friend's have noticed it when streaming, I think I am just so used to it at this point that I'm blind to it.

https://youtu.be/TiSMuuFcqXM

I will get images and a pastebin of my profile in about an hour. Just writing this up to get the ball rolling.
<<

lax

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 6930

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 9:32 pm

Post Wed Feb 15, 2017 6:54 pm

Re: Windows Layout Game Swap Flicker

You're occasionally seeing the window at 960x540, in the adjusted position, before the scaling change completes.

You could completely avoid this appearance if you want, by using a Video FX Layout. This would put all of the windows on the main screen at 1080p, with 960x540 views of the game clients instead of the game windows themselves.
<<

jabberie

Posts: 50

Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:56 am

Post Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: Windows Layout Game Swap Flicker

So basically it's a stacked 1080 set up on monitor 1 and my 4 side windows are just VideoFX at the lower resolution.
When I swap, I'm just moving the stacks around.

This would probably make using OBS a lot simpler for window/game capture.

I assume the vFX can be set up to completely mimic what I have in terms of slot swapping?
<<

lax

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 6930

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 9:32 pm

Post Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:07 pm

Re: Windows Layout Game Swap Flicker

jabberie wrote:I assume the vFX can be set up to completely mimic what I have in terms of slot swapping?

Yes, in fact the Window Layout Wizard's Video FX Layout option will do it for you. Set the option to True (it's at the bottom of the properties panel in the wizard) and then select the same Window Layout style you're using now (not the existing layout) and it should set it all up for you.

There are some differences. The views are fully interactive in-place, so clicking does not swap it to main. The "Video FX Focus Hotkey" is used, which is Alt+Mouse1 by default -- so you would Alt+click to move one to the main screen if you're switching windows via clicks. More info http://isboxer.com/wiki/Video_FX_Layout
<<

jabberie

Posts: 50

Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:56 am

Post Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:25 pm

Re: Windows Layout Game Swap Flicker

cool, i only use hotkey swap so that sounds just fine. I'll test it shortly.
<<

bob

User avatar

League of Extraordinary Multiboxers

Posts: 3307

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:14 am

Location: In the dining room, with the lead pipe.

Post Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:28 pm

Re: Windows Layout Game Swap Flicker

I don't know if it is still the case as it is an old post, but firescue17 noted in this post that ALT+anyKey was bugged when used as a bind in EQ (this might be specifically when used via ISBoxer, but it's not clear).

Return to Window Layouts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest